Book Talk: Shadow Study (Soulfinders #1)

Posted September 22, 2016 in 5 Star Ratings, Book Reviews / Leave a comment!

Book Talk: Shadow Study (Soulfinders #1)Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder
Series: Soulfinders #1
Published by Mira
Published On: February 24, 2015
Genres: New Adult, Romance
Maturity Level: New Adult - sexual content and violence
5 Stars
Add to Goodreads
Amazon | Book Depository | Chapters | iBooks

Once, only her own life hung in the balance…

When Yelena was a poison taster, her life was simpler. She survived to become a vital part of the balance of power between rival countries Ixia and Sitia.

Now she uses her magic to keep the peace in both lands—and protect her relationship with Valek.
Suddenly, though, dissent is rising. And Valek’s job—and his life—are in danger.
As Yelena tries to uncover her enemies, she faces a new challenge: her magic is blocked.And now she must find a way to keep not only herself but all that she holds dear alive.


I think just about everything will fit under this section. I really missed Yelena and Valek and I’m really glad that I got to go on another adventure with them. You know how sometimes when a series gets longer or when an author adds another series it can get long and tedious? That doesn’t happen here. Especially if you read the three series in the correct order. You don’t have to read them in order but I think it really helps. I could read about Yelena and Valek all the time because they’re just such great characters and there’s so much we still don’t know about them!

I’m going to take a brief pause in my review to explain this series order to you. Basically there’s three series (so far) that are all based in the same fantasy world. The first series (Study Trilogy) is where we first meet Yelena and Valek (plus others). That series is three books long. After that there’s the Glass Trilogy where we follow Opal. That nice part about this series is that even though we’re following a different character, we still see Yelena around sometimes and stuff that happened in the first series has affected things in this series. This book is a part of the Soulfinders Trilogy which is the last one as of right now. We’re following Yelena and Valek again but we also see Opal from the second series! All of these series can be read by themselves or in a different order but I HIGHLY recommend you read them in the order I just mentioned. It’ll be SO much better.

I also love how this plot is so different from the other books! We’ve met other characters along the way in the previous series but now they actually get to be a part of this one! It’s nice because everyone trusts each other so they can all work together effectively and this group of people always gets into trouble. There’s more people our beloved characters can rely on but there’s just as many as they can’t trust. What I really love about this series is how some things that happened in the previous series have carried over. The characters haven’t forgotten what has happened and it’s mentioned sometimes. I hate it when previous books are basically forgotten and never mentioned again.

I was especially excited because we saw a lot of Valek’s back story and he’s one of my favourite characters. If you’ve read the previous series then you have that to look forward to!!

It’s hard for me to review this book because I don’t even want to give you the smallest detail. It’s so much better going into it blind! I can tell you that I loved it from page one and couldn’t put it down the entire time.


The only thing I could possibly put under this section is the fact that the whole series didn’t come out all at once so I could binge it all. It’s that addicting.


I’d honestly recommend this to anyone because I love it so much. Keep in mind that the previous two series were young adult but this one is more of a new adult series since our characters have aged along with us! I think fantasy lovers will especially love this one because it combines all the best parts of a fantasy book.


An easy fantasy world to get sucked into! You’ll be hooked from page one and won’t be able to put it down again until it’s done. Warning: make sure you have book two on hand because you’ll be dying to start that one right away!



(click to see my reviews)
grave mercyAir-Awakens-Cover
“I always remember the faces and names of my enemies. I don’t want to forget to kill anyone.”

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge