Book Talk: Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3)

Posted June 24, 2016 in 5 Star Ratings, Book Reviews / Leave a comment!

Book Talk: Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3)Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes
Series: Falling Kingdoms #3
Published by Razorbill
Published On: December 9, 2014
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Magic
Maturity Level: Young Adult - some violence
5 Stars
Add to Goodreads
Amazon | iBooks

In GATHERING DARKNESS, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred - the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic...

• THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

• THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia's overpowering magic - all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

• THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia's powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in the dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica... but fate can be fickle when magic is involved.


The #1 thing that I loved was that my ship might be sailing! I don’t want to give away who it is but I really hope something happens there because it’s a really great couple in my opinion.

I thought (most of) the characters were a lot different than in the first book. This is a good thing though! They’re all growing as characters which is something I love to see in books. They’re learning from their mistakes instead of making the same stupid ones over and over. They’re all getting a little older and realizing what they need to do to win this game. My favourites are easily Cleo and Magnus because I find them growing the most and they seem to be really working for what they want.

I was really glad that we got to see more of the Watchers in this book because up until this point there were just mentioned every once and a while. In this book we got to really see how their part of the world works and who holds all the power there. I feel bad for them a little bit because they’re slowly dying off and they really just want to survive. Some characters aren’t surviving in the right way but we’ll see where the story takes us.

I found the plot really picked up in this book. There was more action and a lot of split second decisions that the characters needed to make. I was really happy with how everything turned out at the end of this book and I’m having a hard time waiting for my copy of the next book.


For some reason, I don’t like Jonas very much. I can’t even tell you why. I found that all the other characters have these great stories and are developing really nicely except him. I wish he was a lot more likeable because right now I don’t think he has any idea what he’s doing and that drives me crazy. Also Lucia is starting to get on my nerves because she’s extremely childish even though she has all these people around her trying to help her grow up.


I’d recommend this book to all fantasy lovers who are willing to give a new series a chance. The first book wasn’t a 5 star book in my opinion but you can definitely tell that the author is getting better as she writes because as she gets better so does the story. There’s lots of different characters for everyone to love so it’s a great series for group reading like a book club.


This is a series you have to be patient with at the beginning only to be rewarded at the end. (Not that it starts out bad!) The plot gets thicker and the price for these characters gets higher!




(click to see my reviews)
Air-Awakens-Coverkiss of deception
“In the shadow my father has cast over my entire life, you are the only light I can see anymore. And, whatever the cost, I refuse to let that light be extinguished”

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge